Ted Crowe Room

[ See below: This year's fixtures at Taunton ]

Visiting the Ted Crowe Room at Somerset CCC in Taunton

Download: Ted Crowe Room Reply Form, 2021 (PDF)

Download: OBCC Newsletters (PDFs):

The Ted Crowe Room, a corporate box at the County Cricket Ground at TauntonThe Old Blundellian Cricket Club is extraordinarily fortunate to have its own permanent corporate box at the County Cricket Ground at Taunton. This is called the Ted Crowe Room and is located on the top floor of the Ondaatje Pavilion. The Room is a magnificent place from which to watch cricket, and it also houses an extensive collection of cricket books and memorabilia.

Membership of the Ted Crowe Room remains open to all members of the Old Blundellian Club and, by invitation, to others. OB’s wishing to become members for the 2021 season should complete and return the Membership Application Form with the appropriate remittance. Then, when they propose to visit the Ted Crowe Room to watch cricket, they must “book in” with the Room Coordinator, David Dibb, in advance - one week in advance if food is required. Contact David preferably by email on tedcroweroom@gmail.com, or by phone on 07747 727576.

The Room is normally open on all days during the Summer when Somerset CCC is playing a home game. There are nearly 50 days’ cricket at Taunton but there will be a few popular dates when we are oversubscribed, so booking will always be on a first-come-first-served basis. At the time of booking, please advise if you wish to have lunch/tea (see below). Please note that if you book in and then fail to turn up, you will be invoiced for the catering charges that the OBCC will incur.

Catering Charges

The daily catering charge for 2021 in the Ted Crowe Room is again £25.00 per head. This includes morning coffee and afternoon tea (a cup of tea and a slice of cake). Other drinks are to be purchased from the Room Steward.

Ground admission

When visiting the County Ground at Taunton to watch cricket, Room Members are reminded that they must either be members of Somerset CCC or pay the daily ground admission charge at the gate. To obtain membership, telephone the Club Office on 0845 337 1875 or apply on-line at www.somersetcountycc.co.uk.

With the benefit of the new pavilion Somerset do not require the Box for any T20 games so they will all be available to members to book in the normal way.

We try and keep the etiquette in the Ted Crowe Room as relaxed as possible but members are asked to observe the following points.

  • On arrival in the Room, please identify yourself and any guests to the Room Steward;
  • There is a Guest Fee of £5 per head payable by the host.
  • Please note that most County Championship matches now start on a Friday.
  • Catering charges will again be £25.00 per head per day. For County Championship matches that start on a Sunday, the “lunch days” will usually be the Monday and Tuesday (Days 2 and 3). If you visit the Room on those days and do not book lunch, the Committee asks that you do not bring your own lunch and eat it in the Room or on the balcony. If you do not book lunch, please do not then help yourself to the food! If you book lunch and then do not attend, you will be invoiced for the cost.
  • On days when there is no Room catering, a small charge will be made for coffee/tea.
  • If you bring children with you, please ensure that they behave appropriately and are supervised where necessary.
  • The lift in the ground floor vestibule up to the Room is operated by a key system. The Room Steward holds a key. Please give notice in advance if you need to use the lift and we will be pleased to assist.
  • The dress code in the Room is smart casual at County Championship and London Life 50 overs matches. The dress code is relaxed for T20 games.

Somerset CCC 2021 Fixtures at Taunton

Date Days Home Away Ground Comp  
Thu Apr 08 4 Middlesex Somerset Lord’s CC  
Thu Apr 15 4 Somerset Gloucestershire The Cooper Associates County Ground CC  
Thu Apr 22 4 Leicestershire Somerset The Fischer County Ground Grace Road CC  
Thu Apr 29 4 Somerset Middlesex The Cooper Associates County Ground CC  
Thu May 06 4 Hampshire Somerset Ageas Bowl CC  
Thu May 13 4 Somerset Surrey The Cooper Associates County Ground CC  
Thu May 20 4 Gloucestershire Somerset Bristol County Ground CC  
Tue May 25 4 Somerset New Zealand The Cooper Associates County Ground TOM  
Thu Jun 03 4 Somerset Hampshire The Cooper Associates County Ground CC  
Wed Jun 09 1 Somerset Essex Eagles The Cooper Associates County Ground T20 F
Fri Jun 11 1 Somerset Surrey The Cooper Associates County Ground T20 F
Tue Jun 15 1 Somerset Kent Spitfires The Cooper Associates County Ground T20 F
Fri Jun 18 1 Sussex Sharks Somerset The 1st Central County Ground T20 F
Sat Jun 19 1 Somerset Glamorgan The Cooper Associates County Ground T20 F
Wed Jun 23 1 Surrey Somerset Kia Oval T20 F
Fri Jun 25 1 Somerset Hampshire The Cooper Associates County Ground T20 F
Mon Jun 28 1 Kent Spitfires Somerset Canterbury T20 F
Tue Jun 29 1 Essex Eagles Somerset The Cloudfm County Ground T20 F
Thu Jul 01 1 Gloucestershire Somerset Bristol County Ground T20 F
Fri Jul 02 1 Somerset Middlesex The Cooper Associates County Ground T20 F
Sun Jul 04 4 Somerset Leicestershire The Cooper Associates County Ground CC  
Fri Jul 09 1 Hampshire Somerset Ageas Bowl T20 F
Sun Jul 11 4 Surrey Somerset Kia Oval CC  
Fri Jul 16 1 Glamorgan Somerset Sophia Gardens T20 F
Sun Jul 18 1 Somerset Gloucestershire The Cooper Associates County Ground T20  
Tue Jul 20 1 Cornwall Somerset TBC NC  
Thu Jul 22 1 Devon Somerset TBC NC  
Sun Jul 25 1 Somerset Derbyshire The Cooper Associates County Ground 50L  
Wed Jul 28 1 Somerset Glamorgan The Cooper Associates County Ground 50L  
Fri Jul 30 1 Nottinghamshire Somerset Welbeck 50L  
Sun Aug 01 1 Somerset Yorkshire The Cooper Associates County Ground 50L  
Thu Aug 05 1 Surrey Somerset Kia Oval 50L  
Sun Aug 08 1 Northamptonshire Somerset The County Ground Northampton 50L  
Tue Aug 10 1 Somerset Leicestershire The Cooper Associates County Ground 50L  
Thu Aug 12 1 Warwickshire Somerset Edgbaston 50L  
Sat Aug 14 1 TBC TBC TBC 50L QF  
Tue Aug 17 1 TBC TBC TBC 50L SF  
Thu Aug 19 1 TBC TBC TBC 50L Final  
Tue Aug 24 1 TBC TBC TBC T20 QF F*
Wed Aug 25 1 TBC TBC TBC T20 QF F*
Thu Aug 26 1 TBC TBC TBC T20 QF F*
Fri Aug 27 1 TBC TBC TBC T20 QF F*
Mon Aug 30 4 TBC TBC Divisional Fixture CC  
Sun Sept 05 4 TBD TBC Divisional Fixture CC  
Sun Sept 12 4 TBD TBC Divisional Fixture CC  
Sat Sept 18 1 TBC TBC TBC T20 SF  
Sat Sept 18 1 TBC TBC TBC T20 Final  
Tue Sept 21 4 TBD TBC Divisional Fixture CC  
Abbreviations
CACG The Cooper Associates County Ground
LV=CC LV= County Championship
50L Royal London One Day Cup (50 overs)
T20 NatWest T20 Blast
TOM 3 Tourist Match, 3 Days
WODI Women’s One Day International
F Floodlight
F* Floodlight TBC
QF Quarter Final
SF Semi Final